Messy Tuesday

A bit of ennui has descended upon me the last few days…not sure why.  Perhaps the knowledge that spring is coming, but not quite fast enough?  Perhaps because the springtime allergies have arrived with a vengeance? (ugh) There could be a million reasons, I suppose, and I’ve been letting myself roll with it.  I know it will pass (it always does), and the pensiveness that often comes with this ennui is not unwelcome.  Especially during Holy Week, when I like to be a bit more thoughtful than I am on regular days full of things to do, places to go and people to see.

There’s not much knitting excitement to report — Hourglass is mere rows from finishing, I guess that’s exciting, but I’ll be more excited when it’s actually done.  Other projects are on hold while I finish this one, so there’s not much to say on that subject.

Reading through my blogroll today I came across this post over at needled.   I thought it was interesting (as are the posts that she links to which describe in more detail the inspiration for the blog project).

I have a love/hate relationship with messes (who doesn’t?).  I typically know where everything is, even (and maybe particularly) when everything isn’t tidied up.  But I hate a sink full of dishes, and piles of laundry on the floor.  I love it when, ever other Wednesday, our cleaning lady comes.  I hate it on every other Tuesday night when I’m running around the apartment putting dishes in the dishwasher and folding laundry so that it’s not so messy when the cleaning lady comes.  Wednesday night I inevitably make a mess looking for something that was tidied up in the previous 24 hours.  And so it continues, a vicious cycle.

The mess that bothers me most of all is what greets me when I walk in the door after work every day.

This isn’t as bad as it’s ever been, but there are several weeks of buildup here (the mess weren’t done away with last week before our beloved cleaning lady arrived, just shoved into a couple of piles and shunted into the corner).  It sometimes expands to take over most of the island.  It really is the first thing you see when you walk in, and is an ideal to put down the day’s mail, keys, packages, grocery sacks, et cetera.  But then I take off my shoes and go sit down and start relaxing and, well, that’s that.

There’s no cleaning lady coming tomorrow, but the mere act of documenting the mess spurred me on to clean it up.  Of course, this means moving most of it elsewhere.  Lots of the stuff got recycled, and a large percent ended up in the office on K.’s desk.  Now there’s a mess!  Piles don’t bother him one bit.  But that’s a post for another time.  When I walk in the door from work tomorrow, this is what I will see:

Not perfect, but improvement!  It’s kind of like a sourdough starter.  You use up some of it, but always leave enough behind so that more can grow.  And I guarantee you, it’ll grow!

One thought on “Messy Tuesday

  1. Clutter really is like sourdough starter, it’s never totally gone. I’ve been trying to de-clutter my possessions lately (why hello, boxes of unknown crap in my parents’ basement) and it’s a constant battle!

Leave a Reply

