A little bit of Camelot

I got a surprise in the mail on Thursday. My dad and his wife were in Vermont recently and picked me up a copy of the King Arthur Flour Baker’s Companion. I much prefer baking to cooking, so this cook/bakebook is a welcome addition to my fledgling collection.

This morning I leisurely read through the introduction, and then through the appendices that talk about ingredients, tools, methods, and other aspects of the fundamentals of baking. Of particular interest was the “tools” section…there’s a ton of baking stuff I want now! (And no, I’m not even going to go to the website where I can buy all these goodies until April so I don’t slip up in my endeavor to stick with the things I already have, as hard as it is.) The book has chapters for breakfast breads, cookies, pies, cakes, pastries, yeast breads, crackers…it goes on and on. There are hundreds of opportunities to make a mess in my kitchen in this book, and I got right down to it.

I decided cookies were the way to go — they required no gadgets or items I didn’t already own, and I had all the ingredients at hand. K. wanted chocolate chip, but I had already promised a batch of very chocolatey truffles and thought that was chocolate enough. I wanted a cookie with character and complexity, and something soothing on a dreary February afternoon.

Enter Exhibit A:

Chewy molasses cookies. Rolled in sugar, with cinnamon, cloves, ginger and a pinch of cardamom…perfect with a glass of milk or cup of tea.
2 thoughts on “A little bit of Camelot

  1. Delicious! Molasses are my favorite and they seem to be the most amenable to perfect form, uniform size, etc. Enjoy the baking adventures!

Leave a Reply

