Happy New Year!

I’m probably one of the last to wish everyone a happy new year, but this is really the first chance I’ve had to blog this year. 2008 started with a bang, and I have high hopes for it being a great year.

Vacation was fantastic. Just what the doctor ordered. How can you go wrong with 7 days and nights on a boat, with the most pressing thing on the agenda is to get to the next island so you can have dinner? Really, a whole week of not doing anything is something I haven’t done in years (ever, possibly?) and it’s not like I didn’t do anything. There was swimming, traipsing along beaches, checking out island bars, slathering on sunscreen (the tan is already fading), and much fun and laughter. I returned home on Sunday feeling relaxed and refreshed, ready to head back to work (well, maybe not quite, but at least I wasn’t dreading it). Pictures to come–they’re still on my camera.

So, 2008. I don’t really do resolutions. I don’t think January should be the only month where things get done to better myself, and then feel guilty the rest of the year for not having stuck to it. Therefore, I have goals for the year…things that I want to have accomplished by the time I ring in 2009. Here are three goals so far…

Goals for 2008:

  • Learn how to do colorwork
  • Learn how to sew
  • Complete a project (of some kind) every month

I’ve already finished one project this month–the second blue sock is ready to wear. They may get debuted tomorrow (I’ll take a picture)!

And, I’ve already learned a new technique: Norwegian Purling (scroll down for the video). Since I learned how to knit continental style, I haven’t been to happy with the purling. It’s awkward, and my tension stinks. It was pretty much to the point where if I had to do a row of purling, I’d switch to English style, which defeats the purpose of me having learned continental in the first place! Anyway, I don’t even know where I first heard about it (it was ages ago, before I even learned continental knitting), and thought I’d check it out again. It took a couple tries, but once I got the hang of it, I realized that I have found the purling solution.

Anyway, in other news, I’m joining the ABC along. I wasn’t blogging the last time it was out, and this time around I’m going to take a stab at it. A good way to keep on blogging when blog fodder is low (which it shouldn’t be with all those projects I’ll be working on each month!).

Next up, pictures of vacation and the first fo (maybe first two fo’s). Stay tuned for a great 2008!

Leave a Reply

