Twas Two Nights Before Christmas…

and the house is almost clean, the laundry is done, and there’s not much left to do.  Oh, except pack for two weeks’ vacation, finish the Christmas cards, run the dishwasher, take out the trash, and get to bed early so we can be up and out to the airport first thing tomorrow morning.  And what did I do today?

One generic toe-up sock

And one Monkey.

 

The Monkey is a bit too big and I messed up the toe (oops).  I’m going to chalk it up to a learning experience, knit the other sock and maybe rip this out and re-knit at a later date.  I really like the yarn (Sophies Toes), and the pattern was as cool as everyone says it is, but the result is just so-so.  Oh, well!  I’m not going to let it get me down, since the sock knitting this week wasn’t a total bust.  I love the blue sock!  It took me a week to do it, which is record time (I started the Monkey in October), and it was knit toe-up, so I knew it would fit as I worked my way up the leg.  Now if I can just get the other one to match…

Tomorrow K and I head off to Florida for a warm-weather Christmas.  I’m not sure how I’ll feel about celebrating Christmas without even a hint of winter, but I think I’ll survive in my shorts and t-shirt.  We continue on from there to the Caribbean for 10 days where we are going to sail with some friends.  A long anticipated vacation!  We can’t wait.  I’m bringing sock yarn; maybe the blue sock will have a mate when I return.  But if it turns out that I just relax and soak in the sun and sand, so be it.

 See you in 2008!

Leave a Reply

