Summer doldrums

I think I’m stuck in the summer doldrums. It’s not that there’s nothing going on…on the contrary, some big changes are in the process of happening here chez Jessie. But there’s nothing really tangible at the moment. At the same time, I feel like there’s so much going on–I have plans every weekend except one through October!!–that I really don’t have the time to just sit and think it all out. The juxtaposition of the listlessness of the doldrums and the busy-ness of life is putting me a bit out of sorts. Maybe it has to do with the fact that August quickly approaches, and I’m wondering where 2007 has gone. Anyway, I’ve been thinking about blogging a lot, but the words just aren’t making it to the page. Oh, well…I suppose these things happen.

Knitting has been a bit spotty in the last week or so…part of the larger phenomenon, I imagine. Also, since Tuscany has been finished and I have so many things queued up to start, I’m having a bit of a directional crisis. What to do next?? I started a sock (no pic…bad lighting right now), but it had to be set aside when my beloved short row heel turned…not the way it was supposed to, but against me. I will try again when I can devote my full attention to it to get it right. MS3 still hasn’t been restarted, since that, too, will take the full concentration I don’t seem to have these days. I scored some great Sophie’s Toes Yarn last week that arrived on Friday, but can’t think what to do with it yet. I could start any number of sweaters or the several holiday knits I’ve sworn to do…but none of it is really turning me on right now.

I did what anyone would do…returned to the UFO that is blessed mindless knitting: the Ombre Blanket. I haven’t worked on this puppy in months. A while back I wound up about 14 skeins of Blue Sky Alpaca in order to have the next two colors ready to go, but since then, nada. Until yesterday when I finally picked up the thing and started knitting. It’s slow going. it’s my Slogalong project. And boy, is it slogging. But it’s so soft. And comforting. And knitting. No fancy lace, seaming, turning of heels or other even minorly complicated things need apply. Right now, I just need the, yes, monotony of the good ol’ knit stitch.

Hopefully the doldrums will pass in the next day or so. I have pictures from New York and my cousin’s wedding, and lots of stuff to do and changes to undertake in the next few weeks. I think my sails will be filling with wind soon, and I’ll be moving right along.

Leave a Reply

